Wanna work with me Wednesday

Slalom
Premier Field Engineering (PFE) provides technical leadership for Microsoft’s Premier customers around the world to promote health in their IT environments through onsite, remote and dedicated support services.
Okay, so what does all that really mean? If I’m a PFE, what will I be doing?
Cindy Parrish, one of Microsoft’s Recruiters has been talking to our PFE’s to get their personal stories. For the next 9 weeks we will answer that question, so that you have a clear picture of the PFE role at Microsoft.
Welcome to Wednesday and an explanation of what it’s like to be a PFE by a current PFE in their own words.

Here’s what Shaun says about his job:

My Life as a Premier Field Engineer at Microsoft
Before beginning my career at Microsoft I was an MCT trainer at a local training company and Microsoft partner in Maine. I was able to complement my “book knowledge” by working as a consultant at the same time. These customer engagements and training opportunities began building the necessary soft skills that would be key to becoming a PFE.
Applying at Microsoft had never even been a possibility for me because I live in Maine. I had just assumed that with the closest office being over 2 hours from my house, I would have to relocate my family and disrupt our lifestyle we had grown accustomed to. As I found out, the PFE role is very flexible. Every day is different. Developing new workshops or chalk talks, being onsite with a customer troubleshooting performance issues, working remotely with a customer to review architectural designs, attending team meetings, and annual GeekReady events are just some of the ways PFE spend their time. The PFE role has been a great fit for me and my family.
As a SQL Server PFE, my main responsibility to my customers is to be available for reactive scenarios, which can range from server down to performance issues or any other issues causing outages affecting mission critical business. We work very actively with our customers to be proactive, offering workshops, chalk talks, mentoring, risk and health assessments and many other services. We are the trusted advisor that our customers turn to when they need help.
Microsoft provides us with the training required to excel at our roles, including soft skills training, such as, affectively dealing with difficult customers, and technical skills training from the very best engineers in the business. When we are onsite, we are typically their by ourselves, but we have unlimited resources at our disposal to help resolve the issues we might be facing.
Technology is a passion of mine. SQL Server is the product I’ve chosen to focus my skills on and I can’t think of a better role than PFE. I love this role because of the variety, learning opportunities, my teammates, my manager, and unlimited growth opportunity while here at Microsoft. Nowhere else will I have the opportunity to work with so many different industries, environments and people.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

