Wanna work with me Wednesday

PFE-EC3-Headshot-large-6406
Premier Field Engineering (PFE) provides technical leadership for Microsoft’s Premier customers around the world to promote health in their IT environments through onsite, remote and dedicated support services.
Okay, so what does all that really mean? If I’m a PFE, what will I be doing?
Cindy Parrish, one of Microsoft’s Recruiters has been talking to our PFE’s to get their personal stories. For the next several weeks we will answer that question, so that you have a clear picture of the PFE role at Microsoft.
Welcome to Wednesday and an explanation of what it’s like to be a PFE by a current PFE in their own words.

Here’s what Matt has to say about his job:

Why I love my position as PFE for Microsoft –

Any given day or week as a transactional PFE can be different than the last. One week I may be performing an AD risk assessment for a Fortune 500 company and then teaching a workshop about Group Policy the next. The amazing amount of variety, exposure, and contact to different technologies, brilliant people, and difficult scenarios makes this the most challenging AND rewarding job I have ever had.
The one aspect of this position that I enjoy the most is helping our customers. Be it a discussion about a deep aspect of my specialty to the identification of a long running issue and helping with its remediation. Seeing the proverbial light bulb light up always makes me smile. On one specific occasion I was able to assist my customer with a redesign of their Active Directory site topology. These changes, made global impacts to their workflow, user experience, and alleviated many pain points that were currently being experienced.
With the amount of work and responsibility this job includes, it can be difficult to manage a strong work/life balance. Thankfully, Microsoft makes every effort to allow me to manage my time. Since this balance can only be defined by me, providing flexibility to control my work schedule allows me keep my home life health high.
In addition, Microsoft’s desire to give back to the community on a local and global platform are immense and being afforded the time to focus on ways to contribute are most rewarding. I have been given the opportunity to organize team coordinated quarterly volunteerism events which is something very important to me.
In closing, the PFE role is a challenging, multi-sided teeter-totter with both amazing experiences and tough situations. It is this incredible duality that makes the position so worthwhile and enriching.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

