Wanna work with me Wednesday

Gladys
Premier Field Engineering (PFE) provides technical leadership for Microsoft’s Premier customers around the world to promote health in their IT environments through onsite, remote and dedicated support services.
Okay, so what does all that really mean? If I’m a PFE, what will I be doing?
Cindy Parrish, one of Microsoft’s Recruiters has been talking to our PFE’s to get their personal stories. For the next several weeks we will answer that question, so that you have a clear picture of the PFE role at Microsoft.
Welcome to Wednesday and an explanation of what it’s like to be a PFE by a current PFE in their own words.

Here’s what Gladys has to say about her job:

I always thought that Microsoft would be an amazing company to work for however I thought that you had to live in Redmond, WA in order to do the type of work that appealed to me. Consequently, I never tried to get a job at the Company.
Throughout my career, I found myself jumping from company to company every two to three years because there were limited areas of growth in those companies and after a while I would get bored since I knew everything about the area that I was in charge of. I then decided to start my own company which I ran for about six years. Although that was exciting, I also found myself not having time to take any vacation or having the opportunity to expand into other areas that I found interesting since I had to spend time learning and working on my not so favorite chores such as Accounting, Taxes, Marketing, Collection, etc…
While working as a subcontractor on a government contract, I met several Microsoft engineers and had the opportunity to see what they did. I asked them a lot of questions and decided that it was exactly what I wanted to do.
Becoming a Premier Field Engineer was what I really wanted to do since it is similar to having my own business, except that I do not have to worry about those “chores” that I was not interested in. I also get to enjoy vacation and other benefits without worrying who is going to help my customers and guide them to utilize the best technology to solve their problems and automate process to help increase efficiency. I also love the fulfillment that I feel when I see the happiness in the customers’ eyes, because they are able to accomplish a task or because they realize the full potential of the technology they are using.
In the five plus years with Microsoft, I have never been bored. There has always been something to learn. I have been able to steer my career in directions that have allowed me to explore different technical areas and bring ideas to improve or create new customer services that Microsoft now offers. I have been privileged enough to meet a lot of really smart people and customers, all of from whom I have learned a lot. I have been able to be part of community related events, travel to different places, and receive all the training I could ever want.
There are plenty of opportunities to learn and steer your career that allow you to explore in both technical and non-technical areas. During my time here, I have grown a lot personally, professionally and technically. As I look forward I see a lot of opportunity to learn and do so much more. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

