Wanna work with me Wednesday

deancron_headshot

Premier Field Engineering (PFE) provides technical leadership for Microsoft’s Premier customers around the world to promote health in their IT environments through onsite, remote and dedicated support services.
Okay, so what does all that really mean? If I’m a PFE, what will I be doing?
Cindy Parrish, one of Microsoft’s Recruiters has been talking to our PFE’s to get their personal stories. For the next several weeks we will answer that question, so that you have a clear picture of the PFE role at Microsoft.
Welcome to Wednesday and an explanation of what it’s like to be a PFE by a current PFE in their own words.
Here’s what Dean has to say about his job:

What do I love about my job as a SharePoint/IIS PFE? Simply put – the challenge. In addition to helping customers remain on the cutting edge by assisting with new product deployments, I get to see some of the toughest issues our customers face. The customers we work with are smart, no doubt about it. By the time they bring a problem to me, they’ve usually exhausted every effort to resolve it themselves, so a simple solution is rare. We really get to dig in to an issue and apply our knowledge of how the product works while troubleshooting an issue, and many times we end up learning something new along the way.

As an example, a few years back I was helping a customer troubleshoot a particularly nasty application crash in an IIS worker process. We’d gathered the usual memory dumps using DebugDiag, but they weren’t showing us what we needed. I’d only used iDNA tracing (also known as Time Travel Tracing) a handful of times up to that point, but in this case I could tell it was needed so I’d be able to see what was going on in the process leading up to the crash, as a live debug of the environment wasn’t going to be possible. After gathering iDNA traces of both working and failing scenarios, I really got to dig in, walking through both traces simultaneously to compare the paths we took in each, taking my debugging skills to a new level while identifying the problem within the application code.

As someone who came in as an industry hire several years ago, one thing I quickly realized here is that you’ll have the opportunity to learn things you otherwise wouldn’t be exposed to. If that sounds appealing and you’re up for the challenge, we’d love to have you on our team!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Wanna work with me Wednesday

  1. sp

    I’m in process of interviews. Let’s hope I will join the team of PFEs… in my case SQL Server.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

