Wanna work with me Wednesday

Sigpic
Premier Field Engineering (PFE) provides technical leadership for Microsoft’s Premier customers around the world to promote health in their IT environments through onsite, remote and dedicated support services.
Okay, so what does all that really mean? If I’m a PFE, what will I be doing?
Cindy Parrish, one of Microsoft’s Recruiters has been talking to our PFE’s to get their personal stories. For the next several weeks we will answer that question, so that you have a clear picture of the PFE role at Microsoft.
Welcome to Wednesday and an explanation of what it’s like to be a PFE by a current PFE in their own words.
Here’s what Butch has to say about his job:
So let me get this straight… PFEs used to be RREs?
Back in January of 2003, I was working for the managed services division of a large hardware manufacturer when I came across a job posting for a position at Microsoft called a Rapid Response Engineer. I was sufficiently intrigued and submitted my résumé. I had already been putting bread on the table supporting Microsoft technologies for several years, but working for them was a dream I’d never allowed myself luxury of. How could I be good enough to work with the people that wrote the code?
Much to my surprise and delight, I received a quick response from a recruiter who wanted to talk to me. An e-mail led to a phone call which led to a full interview, and the rest is history. What I found out was Microsoft isn’t looking for people who know the product at a code level already, they’re looking for people who are passionate about the technology they support! If you have a solid base of understanding about a Microsoft technology, consider an interview with us! Hiring on means getting the training and support you need to be successful.
Since coming on board with Premier Field Engineering (what we’re called now ), I’ve gone onsite nearly 500 times with customers in 33 states and 6 countries, but not all of us travel. Some of us are dedicated to one customer at a time and barely travel at all, but that illustrates the beauty of PFE. We don’t care if the problem or project is just down the road or on the other side of the world. The sincere smiles and heartfelt handshakes of customers that appreciate your help is addictive!
I’ve been at Microsoft for 10 years now, all of them in PFE. That alone should tell you something. If you want to wake up each day to a challenge you enjoy, working for a company that values what you have to offer, you’ll find no better opportunity than becoming a PFE at Microsoft. Sending in that résumé literally changed my life. Go ahead! Let yourself dream a little…

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Wanna work with me Wednesday

  1. hi, how i can be a part of this and i am from egypt

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

