Wanna work with me Wednesday

Lisa Neblett

Premier Field Engineering (PFE) provides technical leadership for Microsoft’s Premier customers around the world to promote health in their IT environments through onsite, remote and dedicated support services.
Okay, so what does all that really mean? If I’m a PFE, what will I be doing?
Cindy Parrish, one of Microsoft’s Recruiters has been talking to our PFE’s to get their personal stories. For the next several weeks we will answer that question, so that you have a clear picture of the PFE role at Microsoft.
Welcome to Wednesday and an explanation of what it’s like to be a PFE by a current PFE in their own words.

Here’s what Lisa has to say about her job:

Let me introduce myself. My name is Lisa and I am proud to be a Microsoft SQL Server Premier Field Engineer (PFE). Being a PFE is an exciting and rewarding job that allows me to experience all life has to offer. There are so many perks with my position.
My job gives me a lot of satisfaction by helping our customers achieve their goals using SQL Server. In my role I travel weekly to customers to assist them with their SQL Server database environments. I get the opportunity to help my customers with knowledge transfer and various other activities. Every week I get to see how Microsoft’s customers innovate and use our products to help their companies succeed in the marketplace. I enjoy seeing the different ways SQL Server is used. It is very fulfilling to leave the customer knowing I have made a positive improvement to their environment. I may have helped them with learning more about SQL Server or solving a technical issue they were experiencing.
There are so many things I get to do in my role as a PFE. One of my favorite things about being a PFE is the ability to work with my colleagues who also share my passion for technology. The collaboration among my colleagues is great whether it is discussing SQL Server or another Microsoft product like our Surface RT. As a PFE I get the opportunity to work with the latest technology in my field. I look forward to spending time with my colleagues because they give me new ideas or skills so it is great to be around others with the same interests. Another thing I really like about my job is the travel. Over the past couple of years, while I have worked with Microsoft I have been able to see not only a lot of the US but I have been traveling internationally.
My position with Microsoft is very flexible and I get a lot of freedom to achieve my goals. There is also a lot of opportunity for career advancement. The training opportunities are endless. There is a plethora of training materials from videos, books and labs that I can access. Overall choosing Microsoft was the best career decision I have ever made.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Wanna work with me Wednesday

  1. How a great job! I believe one day i can become like this..

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

